October 12, 2013

Shared Endorsements on Google - Opt Out if You Don't Want Your Name/Photo Used

Google has started something called Shared Endorsements and unless you change your Google account settings your photo and name can be used beside online ads.

Shared Endorsements is used to help your friends find things you have liked. So for example if you read a news story or watch a YouTube video and you click "Like", Google has the right to put your photo and name from your Google account in an ad related to that item.

It's easy to opt out if you don't like this idea - just log in to your Google account and go to  Shared Endorsements then untick the radio box labelled "Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads"

These new Terms of Service are also in effect on Google + and apply to Google's use of your Page's name, photo and actions. To opt out of having your name and photo used, you must log in to your Google + Page account first.

Note that you can access this setting from your Page's Dashboard. If you turn the setting off, you may not be able to use certain features until you re-enable it.


3 comments:

Yvonne Demoskoff said...

I can't find "shared endorsements" in my Google account profile, Lorine; maybe this feature is only available to those with a Google+ account?

Colleen G. Brown Pasquale said...

'Shared Endorsements" Where is it? Can't find it.

Anonymous said...

Me 3 -- no Shared Endorsements page for me either!! KMC